Tags

, , , , , , ,

As I mentioned on Monday, I’m on a muffin tin kick.  So I thought I would bring back an easy Paris-inspired recipe that brightens my workday mornings.

When I studied in France, I quickly became obsessed with quiche.  Eggs, cheese, veggies – it just worked for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.  Quiche is so easy to make and relatively nutritious depending on the recipe.  My sister and I started making mini quiche to reheat and pack for breakfast along with our lunch. Then, realizing that it was the crust that was adding the calories (although Pillsbury pie crust is amazing), we created these mini quiche snacks that are a perfect morning pick-me-up when paired with a caffeinated beverage.

Just start with any veggies (I prefer spinach, mushrooms, broccoli, or any combo) and sautee in a pan. Once cooked, add to the bottom of a greased muffin tin.

Mini Breakfast Quiche

Top with eggs, lightly beaten.

Mini Breakfast QuicheAdd salt, pepper, and italian seasoning, to taste.  Top with shredded cheese (I prefer mozzarella or cheddar).

Mini Breakfast QuicheBake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until top is lightly browned and eggs are cooked through. (Test with a toothpick.)

Mini Breakfast QuicheOnce cooled, removed from muffin tin and store in airtight container.

Mini Breakfast QuichePack with your lunch and reheat in the microwave or toaster oven.

Mini Breakfast QuicheNow you can look forward to breakfast as much as you enjoy lunch.  That’s like, an extra 5 minutes of enjoyment in your work day.  At least it is for me…