Tags

,

When the weather gets cold and the schedule gets packed, I love pulling out the Crock Pot for easy dinners that are already simmering when I get home from work.  Of course, chili is a staple in everyone’s winter dinner line-up.  Over the past few years, I’ve tested and tasted several chili recipes and merged them into my favorite combination.  I’ve also subbed the meat for ground turkey because with such a hefty meal with so many rich flavors, you don’t really need the fatty ground beef.  Add some beans and vegetables, and this hearty meal is also healthy!

Winter Confetti Turkey Chili

The ingredient amounts can certainly be adjusted – it depends what you like more/less of. To make it easy, I just use one can/package of each ingredient and throw it in the pot!

For easy slow cooker meals, I like to get all of the ingredients out the night before and place them on the counter with my Crock Pot.  If there are specific instructions or additional refrigerated ingredients I’ll need, I write myself a note so I barely have to think in the morning before I sleepily leave for work. (I literally wrote a note to “tired Jamie” once.) That way, everything is in one spot, vegetables are already chopped, and this meal pretty much makes itself.

Awake Jamie sets everything up the night before for Tired Jamie in the morning.

Awake Jamie sets everything up the night before for Tired Jamie in the morning. This was my preparation for Skinny Taste’s Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili.

But on to the good stuff…

It’s super easy – start with turkey in the bottom of the crock pot, topped with chili seasoning and tomatoes. Add remaining ingredients.

Layer turkey, chili seasoning, tomatoes, and remaining ingredients.

Layer turkey, chili seasoning, tomatoes, and remaining ingredients.

And let it simmer!

Let ingredients simmer in Crock Pot for 8 hours.

Let ingredients simmer in Crock Pot for 8 hours.

Then, when you come home from work, serve it with some cheddar cheese!  I like to add and a side of corn bread! Delicious, easy, healthy.

Winter Confetti Turkey Chili

  • 1-2 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 packet chili seasoning
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans
  • 3 carrots, peeled and diced (or 1 bag sliced frozen carrots)
  • 1 bag/box frozen corn
  • 1 large can (1 lb.) crushed tomatoes

Break up raw turkey and place in the bottom of your slow cooker.  Sprinkle chili seasoning on top of raw meat.  Top with stewed tomatoes.

Add remaining ingredients on top, finishing with crushed tomatoes. Make sure the crushed tomatoes cover the ingredients.

Cook on low for 8 hours or on high for 4 hours.

Stir well, mixing all ingredients together and making sure ground meat is broken up. Cook on low for additional 30 minutes.

Serve and top with shredded cheese!